Roxxy with Trophy after winning the title at the Leeward Islands Calypso Competition.

ANGUILLA--The 2019 Leeward Islands Calypso Monarch is Roxxy (Roxanne Webster) from Anguilla. This is her third crown this year, having won the Soca Rave and Anguilla Calypso Monarch crowns. The first runner-up was De Bear (Keithroy Morson) from Antigua and second runner-up was Miss Independent (Karisia Willett) from St. Kitts.

Roxxy won with her two popular calypsos – “Ah Feeling Shame” and “Chances”.

Eight countries/territories/islands took part in the competition: Antigua, St. Kitts, Nevis; St. Thomas, the US Virgin Islands; Montserrat, St. Maarten, the British Virgin Islands (BVI) and Anguilla. The All Star Band with musicians from St. Maarten and Anguilla provided the music under the direction of Cliffette Isaac from St. Kitts and Wibert Brooks of St. Thomas.

The winner received US $4,000, the first runner-up $2,000 and the second runner-up $1,000 as well as trophies for each. The consolation prize for other contestants was $325.